Athletics

Cross Country

Season of play: September 1st until Provincial Finals

Head Coach:Bruce Dickiebdickie@redeemer.ab.ca
Head Coach:Paula Paulgaardppaulgaard@redeemer.ab.ca

 

Golf

Season of play: September 1st until Provincial Finals

Head Coach:John Realjreal@redeemer.ab.ca

 

Curling

Season of play: October 1st until Provincial Finals

Head Coach:      Tenielle Bachektbachek@redeemer.ab.ca

 

Badminton

Season of play: March until Provincial Finals

Head Coach:Roxanne Sekurarsekura@redeemer.ab.ca
Head Coach:Alexis Sikoraasikora@redeemer.ab.c
Teacher Rep:Peter James    pjames@redeemer.ab.ca

 

Football

Season of play: May 1st until Provincial Finals (The season for Football in the fall begins August 16th).  We run our football tryouts/spring camp in June each year.

The HTA Knights are a Tier 2 (749-1249 enrollment) team that formally competed in the Bir Rock league, but now competes as an independent team. The Knights now play an exhibition schedule against the best teams in southern Alberta (LCI (Lethbridge), Raymond, Medicine Hat, Cardston, Catholic Central (Lethbridge) and Foothills Composite. The Knights have a reputation for fielding hard-nosed teams that are always a competitive year in and year out.

Recently, the Knights captured the 2019 Big Rock league title and won the Tier 2 Provincial Championship in 2019 as well (watch the game here). They were also honoured by being named the #1 ranked small school football team in Canada by CanadaFootballChat.com.

Coach Hassett has been the head coach of the Knights football team for the past 18 years. The football team does several events throughout the season to build team unity such as weekly pre-game dinners, rookie talent show night, chapel and Sunday night workouts.

Several former Knights have gone on to play junior football and university football in USports in Canada and in the NCAA. Currently, the Knights have two former players playing in the CFL with Charlie Power (University of Saskatchewan) playing for the Calgary Stampeders and Ryder Stone (Dartmouth, NCAA Div 1) for the Montreal Alouettes. The Knights also have a former player Nick Wiebe who played in the PAC 12 for the Oregon Ducks and former QB Cameron Fietz who played for the University of Arizona.

If you have any questions about the team or are interested in playing for the Knights, please contact head coach Matthew Hassett at mhassett@redeemer.ab.ca

Head Coach:Matthew Hassettmhassett@redeemer.ab.ca
Coach: Kevin Crawfordkcrawford@redeemer.ab.ca
Football Operations:Kyle Claykclay@redeemer.ab.ca

 

Volleyball

Season of play: June 1st until Provincial Finals

JV Girls Head Coach:Kevin Chimkev.chim@gmail.com
JV Girls Teacher Rep:Millie Olshaskimolshaski@redeemer.ab.ca
SR Girls Teacher Rep:Cathy Williamscwilliams@redeemer.ab.ca
JV Boys Head Coach:Darren Dornstauderddornstauder@redeemer.ab.ca
JV Boys Teacher Rep:Peter James    pjames@redeemer.ab.ca
SR Boys Head Coach:Katherine Vigilancekatherine.inch@gmail.com
SR Boys Teacher Rep:Peter James pjames@redeemer.ab.ca

 

Basketball

Season of play: November 1st until Provincial Finals

The boys and girls basketball program at Holy Trinity includes teams at the Senior and JV levels. The teams compete at the 4A level (highest level) of competition in the province of Alberta. Locally, our basketball teams compete in the Foothills Basketball League with various other schools in the region. Our basketball teams have enjoyed very successful seasons throughout the years winning many league and South Central Zone titles. 

At the senior boys level Coach, Sam Aiello has been at the helm for the past 25 years. In those 25 years, the senior boys have won 8 league championships, 5 South Central Zone championships, and 1 provincial championship (3A)(2006). The senior boys have also been provincial silver medalists 3 times and provincial bronze medalists once. Numerous players have gone on to play at the post-secondary level. Most notably, Nick Baldwin and Derek Waldner went on to have outstanding 5-year careers at the University of Lethbridge. Derek left the U of L as the all-team leading rebounder in the history of the school along with many academic All Canadian awards and Nick left as the 2nd all-time leading rebounder in the history of the school along with an academic All Canadian honour. Many other players have gone on to play at the U Sports or ACAC level of competition in Alberta. 

If you are looking for any further information about the basketball programs at Holy Trinity please contact Mr. Aiello at saiello@redeemer.ab.ca.

Please visit https://foothillsathletics.squadfusion.com/welcome  for the Basketball league schedules that are posted on the Foothills Athletic Council website.

JV Girls Head Coach:Paul Daleypdaley@redeemer.ab.ca
JV Girls Teacher RepPeter Jamespjames@redeemer.ab.ca
SR Girls Head Coach:Andrew Gustafsonagustafson@redeemer.ab.ca
SR Girls Head Coach:Karla Malsam-Dudarpol3091@calgarypolice.ca
JV Boys Head Coach:Peter Jamespjames@redeemer.ab.ca
SR Boys Head Coach:Sam Aiellosaiello@redeemer.ab.ca

 

Soccer

Girls Soccer Season of play: September 1st until the end of October

Boys Soccer Season of play: April 1st until the end of May

Girls Head Coach:  
Girls Teacher Rep:Matthew Hassettmhassett@redeemer.ab.ca
Boys Head Coach:  
Boys Teacher RepMatthew Hassettmhassett@redeemer.ab.ca

 

Rugby

Season of play: February 15th until Provincial Finals

Girls Teacher Rep:Melissa Baxtermlbaxter@redeemer.ab.ca
Girls Teacher Rep:Lise Lefebvrellefebvre@redeemer.ab.ca
Boys Head Coach:Jason Krueger   jkrueger@redeemer.ab.ca
Boys Rugby Operations:Kyle Claykclay@redeemer.ab.ca

 

Baseball

Season of play: April 1st until Provincial Finals

The HTA Knights Baseball team got its start in the 2018 season, in the Southern Alberta High School Baseball League (SAHBL- http://sahsbl.wixsite.com/sahsbl) as a Tier 2 team in the West division. In the teams inaugural season they went 11-0 and took the title of Tier 2 West champions, going undefeated and winning the championship in the school’s first season, was a first for any school in the league previously.

The HTA Knights Baseball team is looking to continue its success as it moves into the 2022 season. The team is open to any students in grades 9-12 who attend Christ the Redeemer Catholic schools in the Okotoks area.

Head Coach:      Eric Mcleoderic_mcleod@outlook.com
Teacher RepMatthew Hassettmhassett@redeemer.ab.ca

 

Track and Field

Season of play: February 15th until Provincial Finals

Head Coach:Michele Wademwade@redeemer.ab.ca
Head Coach:Matt Hassett mhassett@redeemer.ab.ca